From Homeschooler, to Public Schooler

The Adventures of being a "homeschooler" in a Public School.

Pacifiers and Probation’s

on January 30, 2013

Don’t get me wrong I am SO incredibly grateful for the people (I’m going to keep them anonymous so I’ll call them Jessie and Debbie) who accepted me into their tight group of friends. But to my dismay Jessie and Debbie are turning out to be quite different than I had first assumed. They weren’t exactly me “type” in friends, blonde, popular, and “perfect”; but I figured I may as well give them a chance and as the old adage goes, “don’t judge a book by it’s cover’. And boy was their cover misplaced, they turned out not to be perfect preppy girls but actually trouble makers. “Jessie” just got off of probation from hospitalizing a 15 year old girl who threw a rock at her 4 year old sister, a bit dramatic but then again I can understand the rage she must have felt. Furthermore, “Debbie” is currently on probation for reasons she refuses to share with me, though she did say “It was probation or 2 years in juvy. I chose probation.” The craziest part of all this to me is the fact that these kids are 8th graders, that means Debbie was threatened with incarceration being only 14 years old!

Now to get to the pacifiers. Let’s say her name is Sarah. She is another one of those popular girls but with a twist of stoner and scene girl, everyone loves her and thinks she is “hot stuff” as one person said. Sarah always wears a laniard around her neck with assorted key chains and random junk dangling from it, but today I noticed something strange entangled in the scraps of different things. Just as I noticed it, she began to suck on it…. And continue to do so for two class periods straight. I found it so odd and I couldn’t decide if she was trying to be cute or if she may actually still suck a ‘binky’.

Leave a Reply

